Schedules of Indian Constitution: A Detailed Look

Schedules of Indian Constitution

Adopted on January 26, 1950, the Indian Constitution is a comprehensive document that delineates the framework for governance within the country. The Constitution has many features, one of which is a series of Schedules of Indian Constitution that describe different facets of the legal and administrative framework of the nation. These schedules are essential for classifying and arranging the duties and authority of the federal and state governments.

Introduction to Schedules of the Indian Constitution

Important details regarding territories, the distribution of Rajya Sabha seats, the management, and sovereignty of scheduled areas and tribes, the division of powers between the central and state governments, and the benefits and privileges enjoyed by senior officials are all included in the schedules.

The constitution makes no mention of the schedules. Rather, they are kept up as independent records. It is important to acknowledge that the Indian Constitution’s Schedules are a part of the document even though they are not included in it. At the time of its adoption in November 1949, the Indian Constitution contained just eight schedules.

Later, the first Constitutional Amendment Act of 1951 added the ninth schedule. The tenth schedule of the 52nd Constitutional Amendment Act, which addresses the anti-defection law, was added in 1985. Following a span of seven years, in 1992, the 11th and 12th schedules were added to the Indian Constitution through two separate Constitutional Amendment Acts (73rd and 74th).

List Of 12 Schedules of Indian Constitution

ScheduleSubject DealtArticles Covered
First Schedule
  • Part 1: The Union and its Territories
  • Lists the States name and their territorial jurisdiction
  • Lists the Union Territories name and their territorial extent.
Article 1

Article 4

Second ScheduleIt deals with the provisions relating to the emoluments, allowances and privileges of:

  • The President of India
  • The Governors of Indian States
  • The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha
  • The Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha
  • The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the State Legislative Assemblies
  • The Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the State Legislative Assemblies
  • The Judges of the Supreme Court
  • The Judges of the High Court
  • The Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Article 59

Article 65

Article 75

Article 97

Article 125

Article 148

Article 158

Article 164

Article 186

Article 221

Third Schedule
  • The Union Ministers
  • The Candidates of Parliamentary Elections
  • Members of the Parliament
  • The Judges of the Supreme Court
  • The Comptroller and Auditor General of India
  • The State Ministers
  • The Candidates of State Legislature elections
  • Members of the State Legislature
  • The Judges of the High Court
Article 75

Article 84

Article 99

Article 124

Article 146

Article 173

Article 188

Article 219

Fourth ScheduleIt deals with provisions related to the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha to the States and Union TerritoriesArticle 4

Article 80

Fifth ScheduleIt consists of the provisions related to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes in IndiaArticle 244
Sixth ScheduleThis schedule deals with the provisions related to the administration of tribal areas in the states of

  • Assam
  • Meghalaya
  • Tripura
  • Mizoram
Article 244

Article 275

Seventh ScheduleIt consists of three lists that divide the power between the Union and the States.

  • List I โ€“ Union List
  • List II โ€“ State List
  • List III โ€“ Concurrent List
Article 246
Eighth ScheduleIt includes a list of the 22 Indian languages that the Indian Constitution recognizes.

  • Assamese
  • Bengali
  • Bodo
  • Dogri (Dongri)
  • Gujarati
  • Hindi
  • Kannada
  • Kashmiri
  • Konkani
  • Mathili (Maithili)
  • Malayalam
  • Manipuri
  • Marathi
  • Nepali
  • Oriya
  • Punjabi
  • Sanskrit
  • Santhali
  • Sindhi
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Urdu
Article 344

Article 351

Ninth ScheduleThis schedule outlines the laws and rules that the state legislatures passed about land reforms and the removal of the Zamindari System.

This schedule also covers the acts and regulations of Parliament pertaining to other matters.

Article 31-B
Tenth ScheduleIt covers the parts of the anti-defection law that deal with the possibility of disqualification for defection among members of state legislatures and parliament.Article 102

Article 91

Eleventh ScheduleThis Schedule covers 29 topics about Panchayat authority, power, and responsibilities.Article 243-G
Twelfth ScheduleThis Schedule describes eighteen issues about the authority, power, and responsibilities of municipalities.Article 243-W

FAQ of Schedules of Indian Constitution

Q1. What do a Constitution’s schedules mean?

Ans. Tables with extra information not covered in the articles are called schedules. There were originally eight schedules in our constitution.

Q2. Which act recognized municipalities under the Constitution?

Ans. Municipalities, or urban local bodies, were granted constitutional recognition by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992.

Q3. What is the number of different schedule types?

Ans. The terms “capacity schedule,” “resource schedule,” and “service schedule” refer to the three different schedule types.

Q4. What is the Constitution’s fourth schedule?

Ans. The provisions about the distribution of Rajya Sabha seats among the States and Union Territories are covered by the fourth schedule.

Read more


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *